CAMRA Aberdeen, Grampian and Northern Isles Branch

Promoting Real Ale in the North East of Scotland


CAMRA isn't just about beer; it's good to celebrate and acknowledge excellence in the pubs that stock our favourite tipple. Every year, as part of the selection process for the Good Beer Guide, all members of our branch have the opportunity to vote for their favourite bars, pubs and clubs. From all the votes a City Pub of the Year (CPOTY) and a 'Shire Pub of the Year (SPOTY) are elected. These two go head-to-head for the title of Overall Pub of the Year and represent our region in national competition. 

At the Beer Festival, every attending member of the public has a chance to vote for their personal Beer of the Festival. The winner receives a case of beer, and this can influence which brewery is offered the chance to be "featured brewery" at the next festival.

And of course there are the national Champion Beer of Scotland and Champion Beer of Britain winners to consider.

Photographs on the right from top to bottom are:-

  • 1) Al Read from the Windswept Brewery receiving the certificate for Champion Beer of Scotland for Windswept Wolf, from the Aberdeen Beer festival dictator Richard Jones
  • 2) Marine Hotel presentation by Chairman Ian Chapman for Country Pub Of The Year 2015
  • 3) Ian Black presenting Craig Adams at the Moorings (now Krakatoa) for being a finalist in the Scotland & Northern Ireland Pub Of The Year 2015
  • 4) Richard Jones (again) presenting Paul Fallen of Fallen Brewery with the certificate for Beer Of The Festival 2015 for Just The Ticket
  • 5) Ian Chapman, Branch Chair, presenting 2016 Branch Pub Of the Year to the Grill in Aberdeen
  • 6) John Corall presenting 2016 Northern Isles Pub Of The Year certificate to the Auld Motor Hoose, Kirkwall
  • 7) Award presented at the 2016 Conference & AGM in Liverpool to Aberdeen, Grampian & Northern Isles for Most Improved Branch Website

Presentation to Nigel Finlay, owner of Staggs, Mussleburgh, for Scottish Pub Of The Year 2016 - Saturday 1st October 2016



Presentation to Richard Jones on 28th December 2016 in honour of organising 22 Great Grampian Beer Festivals



George Howie presents Jordan Shaw with certificate for the Prince of Wales winning Aberdeen CAMRA's City Pub Of The Year on 18th March 2017.



Ian Chapman, Aberdeen CAMRA Chairman, presents Stuart Singer, owner of the Redgarth, Oldmeldrum, with certificates for winning Aberdeen CAMRA's Country Pub Of The Year (POTY) and overall Branch POTY on 24th May 2017.



POTY 2016 Presentation Grill, Aberdeen, 6th April